… for the Malaysian Community

The Premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part 2)


CosPlay-FUN was invited to The Premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows-Part 2 on the 12 July 2011 at TGV Sunway Pyramid. Harry Potter fans from all over attended this grand premiere as it also featured the final round entries of “Malaysia’s Biggest Harry Potter Fan” Contest, in which contestants were required to record a show-and-tell video in the most creative way to prove why they should be crowned Malaysia’s Biggest Harry Potter Fan.

With 10 cinema halls showing the film, expecting more than 1,800 fans to attend this grand premiere, the Cosplayers were the center of attraction. Photo requests, camera flashes and media interviews were endless. Now, we bring you the exclusive comments & reviews from our hardcore Harry Potter cosplay fans on the final installment of the Harry Potter films:

Silvennia (Hermione Granger)
It was a great opportunity to join along with the rest of the Harry Potter fans out there for the Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows premiere last night at TGV Cinemas, Sunway Pyramid. For that, I would like to thank the organiser and CosPlay-FUN for the given opportunity.

Overall, the movie was superb even if the plot was loosely based on the book itself. Not complaining there, I think the whole thing was pieced together perfectly from the beginning to the end. It was a well-paced movie that left me hanging in knowing what would happen next. And, with a couple of tear-jerking scenes, I had to control my emotions in order not to squeeze a tear or two just to save my makeup!

Without spoiling the movie for anyone, I’ll  just say that it’s definitely a good movie to watch especially if you ARE a Harry Potter fan. Don’t forget to equip yourself with tissues beforehand! On another note, Neville and Draco definitely need more love in this movie!


Ikki (Bill Weasley)
After eight films in 10 years, the most successful franchise in the history of movies comes to a satisfying conclusion in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. The final chapter begins as Harry, Ron, and Hermione continue their pursuit of finding and destroying the Dark Lord’s remaining Horcruxes; the dark item that is responsible of his immortality. Despite a few changes in the plot, the film still stays true to it’s original theme with a few memorable scenes beautifully depicted, directly, from the book. Overall, the movie itself serves as a good farewell to the end of the 10-year saga.


Potter SamLeong (Ron Weasley)
I want to thank the organisers & CosPlay-FUN for giving us this final opportunity, to share our passion towards HP from the cosplay community. I am really happy that I was given the chance to wear my robe for the last time for the last movie of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows pt. 2.

The movie is, of course, awesome. I am a die hard fan since the first book until the last. I pre-ordered  all of the HP hardcover books. I also try my best to get all the merchandizes that I can get my hands on, but of course, I am sure there are even more passionate die-hard fans than me. I don’t consider myself as the top-first fan of Harry Potter.

I received good seats, I love the ticket prints, I love the crowd, I love the decorations. I was really glad, surprised and touched, that yesterday’s show was all about Harry Potter! No other shows were shown during that time. I heard all screens were showing the same movie, just at different times.

Even though some scenes were not included (I understand that it’s impossible to fit everything in) but I love everything. The movie, I can score it 99%, with the 1% indicating that there’s room for improvement!


Waninoko (Luna Lovegood)
I love the ending epilogue, as most people joined in for a hearty laugh. They had finally cleared all the confusion and misunderstanding between characters throughout the franchise in this last episode. I still want, however, to see more of Malfoy,  as it seems like quite a lot of things were unexplained for his part. The graphics and soundtrack are great. I wish there’s another movie.


Catherine (Bellatrix Lestrange) - WARNING! SPOLIERS BELOW
Firstly, I shall thank the organiser & CosPlay-FUN for giving me an opportunity to come as the mad yet beautiful Bellatrix Lestrange.

In short, the movie was fantastic. It’s the best of the lot as we finally reach the conclusion, just like Lord of The Rings – Sauron vs. Frodo. It is slowly built up to an explosive end. The scenes at Gringott’s where the trio escaped with the dragon was as how I had imagined it when I read the book. Superb.

Emotions are high once Harry returns to Hogwarts. I almost cried at the scenes where Fred, Tonks & Remus valiantly die. Later on, I cried for Snape who died in a gory manner. In terms of special effects, the scene at Hogwarts where the staff were casting protection spells, & later Lord Voldermort’s attack on the barrier was awesome.

The multitude of Death Eaters waiting on the hilltop over Hogwarts reminded me of The Battle of Helm’s Deep in LOTR except that it wasn’t raining. Super coolness.

I felt scenes with Bellatrix woefully short though. If there were more scenes of her taunting & fighting it would have been really awesome as she is a skilled yet ruthless witch. Thankfully, the movie retained the signature quote from Molly Weasley towards Bellatrix from the book when both of them duelled.

Claps were heard in the cinema when Hermione & Ron kissed near the Basilisk corpse (not according to the book) & when Neville killed Nagini with the sword of Godric Gryffindor. There were laughs from the crowd at some light-hearted moments, which provided the comic relief in such a serious movie.

I expected nothing less starting with Harry’s meeting with Lord Voldermort to the ending. I can safely say the movie meets my demands which is super-duperly action packed & it does not stray too far from the book! All of us shall mourn at the end of this wonderful series that has been around for the past 10 years of our lives. Farewell Harry Potter & friends, we shall miss you dearly!!

P/S: Would there be Expanded Universe (like Star Wars) with Albus Severus Potter continuing his father’s legacy?


Kwan (Death Eater)
It’s sad to say goodbye but what a rousing send off for our dear friends! One could not have wished for a more fitting finale. It all ends …fantabulously!


Anna Sagara (Ginny Weasley)
*SPOILER ALERT AHEAD! You have been warned. Hehehe…*
Some parts turned out funnier than the original situation. For example, 1. the abrupt kisses by Ron Weasley x Hermione Granger made me laugh, when their kissing moment should be more meaningful. 2. the battle – ain’t epic enough.

Not that I’m complaining (since I do enjoy humour!), but like I mentioned, the comedy would be more appreciated if it was inserted at the right slots. (As a matter of fact, I feel like this movie is a of the comedy genre, seriously). I expected this final film to be more serious, more “holding onto your seats” kind of feeling, but I find it to be light as compared to the previous films. I think the 4th movie (Goblet Of Fire) was more exciting, action-packed wise. As for a great script & action sequences, my vote would actually go to the 3rd movie (Prisoner of Azkaban)! In terms of a great script, it would be the 2nd movie (The Chambers Of Secrets). OK, even the Deathly Hallows Part 1 feels more breath-taking, from my experience. When I watch this film, I don’t feel any fear, don’t feel any hype, no tears, no nothing; just cool & calm, all the way. (At least, I don’t feel uncomfortable, which in my book means a movie is a -okay)

I feel sad that one of the most important deaths in the history of the series is treated in a “hi and bye” sort of way. I mean, come on! Remus Lupin x his wife, Fred Weasley, Prof. Snape Severus – they’re all my favorite characters! (By the way, the final part/novel will make you love Snape. He is too noble. Seeing his younger version here made me go “awww”. I have made up my mind that he is my no. 1 fave HP character after the Weasley family. Sorry, Weasleys!) Also, of all the important characters in Harry Potter’s life that died (eg: Sirius Black, Remus Lupin, Lily Potter, James Potter, Prof. Albus Dumbledore), they all appeared to him, and even communicated with him, even after death, either as guardian souls or meeting in the afterlife world, but I don’t see Snape. This makes me even sadder.

Moreover, I feel like there’s not much screen time for Ginny Weasley (I feel for her), I mean, take a look at Ron x Hermione, their romance scenes beat Ginny x Harry, it’s not fair! (Although, I do adore them)

I believe I am the only one in the hall that goes “whoah!” out loud when Luna Lovegood was telling the stubborn Harry firmly and loudly, to listen to her. (During his search for the Ravenclaw treasure) Oh, Luna, I didn’t expect that, you go, girl!

The most kick-ass award would actually go to Prof. Minverva McGonagall. You go, woman!
(I was actually expecting a more grueling battle of death between Molly Weasley and Bellatrix Lestrange, but it’s so-so to me. Still, you go, mama!)

Surprisingly, this is the first movie which I automatically clapped my hands (not the influence of the audience, but I myself have the reflex to do so at the same time, too!) – One, during Neville Longbottom’s rescue by slashing the last Hocrux (the snake) with the Gryffindor’s sword, another during the post-timeskip (future) where Draco Malfoy and his wife are sending their son off to the Hogwarts Train – it was so sweet, even without any dialogue. (Come to think of it, these 2 scenes were without words goes to show that actions do speak louder than it, and I like it) which I awkwardly found  the cheering was all for the most unexpected and kinda wrong moments. *laughs*

Despite some lost expectations of the final installment of a huge new classical title such as Harry Potter, I did enjoy the movie. I am happy that I got to see the future children of the main characters. They are all so cute. I am happy in the end. That’s all that matters. I think this is more suitable for children to go and watch it with their family or guardian(s). Honestly, it’s not as scary (and violent) as the other HP movies, believe it or not. As for adults or teenagers, and especially those who love the novels a lot (or even the previous films), I don’t think this movie will completely satisfy them. But of course, it’s a must-watch for all Harry Potter fans in the world! You would feel totally left out or a part of you would be missing especially if you have been following the movies or novels all the while, but do not catch this one, you know?

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part 2) premiere at TGV Cinemas, Sunway Pyramid | Zestful One

  2. Borrowed your pics for my blogpost. nice writeup

    July 18, 2011 at 12:19 am

    • No worries just credit us & thanks to our photographer Commander Ezli :) Hope u enjoyed the movie too :)

      July 19, 2011 at 12:53 am

  3. Pingback: Mimicking Ron Days Are Over and Wanting to Meet Luna Feeling Has Ended « A Guy Needs to Blog When He Needs to Blog

Leave a Reply

