… Pop-Culture resource for the Malaysian Cosplay Community

PLAY! CONVENTION 2014

By Hui Min

It has been a hectic weekend! But hell yeah we’re still going to PLAY!

Having experienced a gaming convention before, and as leisure gamer myself as well, I’m definitely thrilled about this idea! Held at KDU University College, an educational institute well-known for encouraging the digital art and ACG industry in Malaysia, PLAY! is definitely going to be a blast!

I am especially looking forward to the POKELARP & Tekken tournaments!

Heck there is even a special room so you can bring your laptop and “party” up with people!

Partially organized by the nice people behind Comic Fiesta, this event is running smooth and without much trouble, well of course there is also room for improvements.

Talks’ over, so now let’s head on to the GAMEPLAY!

Looks like it’s full house for the newly launched card game- Avarium Academy.

Over here, an enthusiastic gamer is performing superhuman feats on a music game. I am so gonna play this when I get back. It’s called Yousei Teikoku, a really creative style that I’ve never played before.

Cosplayers are challenging each other on a mission of human VS wooden puppet (Mokujin) in Tekken.

As usual, there will be merchandise booths for avid collectors. They even brought in the now in-trend GUNDAM models! There are also various booths where new games and concepts are being introduced, fresh ideas and fun courses to enroll in.
Console games are free-to-play too!

We’ve experienced all these for RM5.00 only, everything in the event is FREE to PLAY!

So here’s to our journey through a promising gaming convention. Really hope to see it in a larger scale in the future! Also, more board games please (just because I love them!) So stay tuned for the next event updates!

2 responses

  1. With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has
    a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but
    it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement.
    Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being ripped off?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

    September 23, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    • I certainly feel for you & know what you mean. Even before I started this blog, I decided that there will be people ripping it off so I write & post these articles because I want to & not to be an internet sensation. It will be my online portfolio that will be credited to me. If the blog is a summary of you & your style… you will able to produce consistent stuff & pics (coverage). Those who are plagiarize will not be the consistent writer… photographer… and person whom you really are 🙂 The most I do to protect my stuff is just only to put a watermark on my pics & from time post a pic of myself at the event 🙂 No big deal. I guess if people like what they read they will continue to follow. I have this ‘flag counter’ widget that really encourages me when I look at it. It shows the number of people from various countries who have viewed your page 🙂 My experience is not without flaws either. Till today I’m still baffled at how I have (according to flag counter on this blog) 35,000+ viewers from my own country but my facebook page has only 5,000+ likes (followers) :/ So like I said – I’m not doing it for the ‘internet sensation’ goal – I’m just writing because I think it will help like minded folks and also because I like writing about this stuff 🙂 Hope it helps you – GOOD LUCK!

      September 24, 2014 at 2:01 am

Leave a Reply

